28
Apr
13

Why the spoil it for everyone?

OK. I was going to wait until I actually read the book, but I have something to say now.  First, I really really don’t appreciate that I was spoiled.  I didn’t go to Amazon to read the spoilers, but unhappiness popped up on my fb news feed and there was only one way to read it.  

I’m kind of embarrassed how the people who shared my HEA are acting.  People need to take a real close look at themselves because those Bill Lovers that everyone made fun of?  Well, as much as I love you all, you’re acting EXACTLY like them! Do I understand the upset? Yes I do, I honestly do. Spoiling on certain blogs and sites is one thing. It’s the correct audience, but on FB? To come out and say the name? Naw, that’s not fair.

I’m not a fan of who Sookie is apparently going to end up with (I actually would have preferred someone else if not my first choice), but if I’m being perfectly honest, CH left clues every single book.

I’ve reread the series 9 times  (and might I add I NEVER read a book more than once, these books are the exceptions).  During the last two reads, the possibility of this HEA kept popping out at me, but I pushed it aside because I didn’t want to face it.  Last year’s read was when I really noticed it but after reading DeadLocked I thought “no, it wouldn’t be that obvious.”  In my reread this year, it was even more obvious to me, yet I still hung on by my fingernails and defended my choice to my best friend who had been saying who she believed it would be for several years.  

I think if the books had ended with the 10th book, there wouldn’t have been this uproar.  I will explain why after DEA is out.

I’ve always maintained these books were mysteries around the Sookie character, not romances.  I was not thrilled when the focus seemed to veer towards an HEA. I enjoyed the idea of Sookie solving mysteries with her supernatural friends and the dynamics between them more.   I fully blame Alan Ball and True Blood for setting up the stupid shipping wars.  

Anyway, I believe Charlaine had every right, as any artist does, to create her art any way she pleased.  She stayed true to how she planned it to end and that’s fair.  I say this because I am an artist and I would be a hypocrite to criticize her for staying with her vision. I don’t have to like it and I might wish she had been more obvious, but again, it’s her vision. I had my first art show in Ireland and I sat out the way and watched people interact with my drawings. Some got what it was I was doing and it was great. A few other’s I heard say “I could do that.” My thought was always, ok you do it then. Expressing unhappiness is one thing, to spoil the book just because Sookie doesn’t end up with who they wanted really wasn’t fair to fellow readers. 

0 Responses to “Why the spoil it for everyone?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categories


